01 June 2015

Finally! (I didn't want two Korean titles in a row…)

Woah! It must be the end of the world or something, right? I mean, I'm posting! Hopefully it's not. I'm pretty sure it's not. I just decided to finally do this. And, since I logged in and saw that several people checked in today, I guess it's good timing? I dunno. ANYWAY.

So, it's been a while, huh? No, I'm not going to go back and try to completely explain the past… a lot of months. I've decided that would be too much work and too many words. Instead, I'm going to do a bit of a highlight recap and then talk mostly about this past week or so. Ready? Let's go!

Halloween was fun. We talked the kids into not needing to trick-or-treat again, so we just stayed home and watched a movie.

I got two jobs. The first and primary one is in the PetSmart PetsHotel. I basically play with dogs all day. I'll explain more if I need to when I tell stories I guess. The other is with Kasey at the Aji Network. I go in when I can around the hotel, helping do quality control work on their videos and now working camera crew for their conferences.

Thanksgiving was amazing. As everyone knows, I couldn't come out to Utah because I had to work. They have everyone in the hotel work a four hour shift on the 'big holidays' (Thanksgiving and Christmas) to make it fair. So, I was planning on just grabbing some Taco Bell or something on the way home and chilling by myself. When Kasey found out about that, he totally nixed it and very much insisted I join his family instead. It was a blast and a half. I have been very blessed two years in a row with wonderful friends who have helped me through a rough holiday season, and this is my 'public' and totally inadequate show of gratitude. Lorraine, Kasey, Laura- thank you. Thank you so much.

Christmas was almost everything I could have hoped for. While it would have been nice to have the entire family come out, who we got was enough to make it feel like home. I don't want to go into too much detail about this, either, since most people who might possibly read this blog were there, but just know it was awesome.

In January we had the shoot for 'Star Trek Continues' episodes four and five. Woo hoo! As usual, it was a crazy, exhausting, beautiful, annoying, intense, insane, gratifying couple of weeks. It was full of laughter, tears, sleeplessness, yells, cheers, dancing, and fighting. It was one of those experiences that you totally and completely hate and wonder why you're wasting your time while it's happening, but then it ends and you cry and can't wait 'til the next one. You know, pretty standard STC shoot. What set it apart, besides the fact that we filmed two episodes at a time, was the amazing gift we received afterwards. The cast and crew put a pool together to send Aubrey, Randilee, Hayley and I to Orlando! We drove down (the girls were flying out from there anyway) and stayed in a hotel for a couple of nights. The day in between we spent at Universal Studios! Harry Potter World? Totally awesome. Almost as much so as our STC family. Just saying'.
Behind the scenes, working' hard.

Oh so busy! Or so they want you to think. These guys are more the 'hardly working' types. ;)

Hogwarts!

Not much happened through February, March, and April. There were a few birthdays, a trip to Utah everyone already knows about, and a visit from Daddy or two. I love him so much! I fully enjoyed going to dinner with him. :) We did have a chance to go up to San Fransisco when Stacy and Tom (my sister-in-law's parents) came out. Tom and Ryan were working (and Ryan doesn't care anyway) so it was Stacy, Niccole, the kids and I hanging out in the city. I'll try to attach a pic or two from that. We walked around Pier 39; took a Bay ferry out past the Golden Gate Bridge and around Alcatraz; hiked (pretty literally) up to Ghiradelli Square for some ice cream and chocolate; rode a trolley car; and visited the Dragon Gate of China Town. We didn't have time to actually go through China Town like Stacy wanted to, but we had kids that were tired and a couple of husbands to meet, so we left. Niccole and I also took the kids to the beach one day. Other than that, it's been pretty much work work work until this month.
The kids on the ferry. We were coming up on Alcatraz here.

Browyn loved the merry-go-round! All the kids were really dizzy when we got off.

Gettin' on the trolley.

Browyn and me at the beach! She's freaking adorable.

May was kinda crazy. I still worked a bunch, but I also house/dog sat for Kasey during a chunk of the month. Echo and Sadie are so sweet! They didn't like to let me sleep, though. Especially Echo. And she got some TERRIBLE gas from time to time, which she enjoyed sharing with me while hogging the bed and snuggling her butt up to my face. Yummy. I know that doesn't sound like a lot was going on, but it really was. 
Echo and Sadie. Love these girls!


Then, there was this weekend! It was my favorite part of the month, and possibly the year so far. We went down to Phoenix Comicon to premier STC's new episode, "The White Iris"! I flew down on Thursday, got picked up by Becky at the airport, and checked in to the Sheraton. We checked out the convention center a bit while we were waiting for everyone else to come in. Aubrey and Hayley were driving and Michelle's flights kept getting delayed, so we tried to find ways to entertain ourselves. The con hadn't actually started yet, so there wasn't much to do, but we managed. Eventually we had more people to play with, and found some pretty neat stuff. Like the zombie shooting alley! That was cool. I liked shooting zombies. xD

Friday they asked Hayley and I to wear costumes from the show to help promote the episode. Most of us spent pretty much the entire day walking around trying to figure out where to put the little cards we had to advertise so people could know about the screening. We all met up about 5:30 for the 6:00 showing. The turnout was good, the episode was BEAUTIFUL, and the fact that they "couldn't turn the lights out" until ten minutes before the ep ended was only slightly annoying to me. After the viewing we had a Q&A panel where we also showed the bloopers from "Iris" and the teaser for our fifth episode, then an autograph signing. Chris had us go around trying to 'hype' the people in line, and eventually I went and talked to the people still waiting in the chairs too (They called people up in sections to try and contain the crowd better. I felt bad for the people that actually waited correctly for all that time, but they were troopers. And actually really cool when I went and talked with them.) That night, Hayley, Aubrey, Michelle, Abigail (one of the Kickstarter backers from this episode with whose presence we were graced most of the day) and I went back to our hotel room, ordered pizza, and hung out before going to bed. It was a good day.
A shot of the autograph line after the premier.

Saturday was pretty non-stop. The first STC-related panels started at noon. Some of us went to Chuck's acting panel while others went to the 'Women of Trek' panel (I went there!). Then it was Vic's, then the producers' panel, then the make up demonstration. It may not sound like a lot, but it was back-to-back-to-back. I was on the producers' panel, but luckily didn't have to answer any questions. Apparently, according to Twitter and several people that randomly spoke to some of the con staff (that later told me) it was a lot of fun and really quite educational. The make up demonstration was Tim and Lisa turning Hayley into a Vulcan, so she was in uniform that day too. I almost dressed up with her, but really didn't want to be wearing the costume while on a panel. I'm not THAT big a geek- so sue me. They did an all-cast photo op Friday evening, though I'm not sure how that went 'cause we didn't get up there after the make up panel. That night we all went to dinner at My Big Fat Greek Restaurant, which was also fun. I LOVE CHRIS DOOHAN! I just had to say that. He is an incredibly sweet man, and I had a really nice moment with him (until Kasey ruined it! xP). Finding out about Elder Perry put a damper on the evening, but other than that it was awesome.
Vic at his panel. Flashy pants, eh?

Hayley gettin' all Spocked up by Tim while Lisa shows off Todd's ear molds. Yummy.

(WARNING: Random name dropping ahead. If you want to be jealous, you can look them up. Haven't figured out if that's my point or not yet… ;P)
Sunday was much calmer. Our last two panels were at noon, which I was really sad about. I'd been excited to go to the make up and wardrobe one, but since the con scheduled the other one I had to be on at the same time I couldn't go. Chris White and I met up to strategize in the green room a bit before the panel started, then went through the maze of back hallways to get to the panel room. While we were slinking along behind the curtains, we passed almost all of the guests that were there. Charisma Carpenter was in the green room, and Karl Urban had stopped by for a minute, but the rest of them we saw everyone else. Alyson Hannigan, Alexis Denisof, Mary McDonnell, Veronica Taylor, Christopher Lloyd; I had to tell Chris who almost all of them were, 'cause he had no idea. It was fun to see them, though. After the financing panel, we hung around the autograph lines with everyone, saying goodbye as they left one at a time. Vic told me to wait in the green room to take Michele over to Karl Urban to say hi, 'cause Vic had to get back to his line, but Karl left before Michele showed up. So did Summer Glau's husband and ADORABLE baby. We did see Jason Momoa and his mom, though. They were grabbing some food before heading out, and Michele "said actual English" to him for the first time ever. Around 3:30, when Vic and Michele were the only cast members left, we all (Vic, Michele, Becky, Aubrey, Michelle, Hayley, and I) went down to the vendor hall- passing Katee Sackhoff and Jason again- and walked around for a while, then Vic went back up to finish signing. When he was done and Michelle was off to the airport, the rest of us hung out in the green room. Lexa Doig, Danielle Panabaker, and Jim Beaver were all there. Vic and David Morrissey raided the 'Jim Beaver BALLS!' centerpiece for golf balls, Vic threw a football and something else at my head, and I explained Periscope to David. (Also, we may or may not have gotten an invitation for dinner at his house… Girls? Thoughts on that one?) He's super cool, by the way. And tall. Danielle had an adorable little Maltese puppy named Bella that was hanging out with her husband. At first Bella was mostly asleep, but eventually started roaming the room and playing around. It was so cute! That night, dinner was originally going to be a nice, quiet evening with what we thought were the ten people left in Phoenix from our group. Turned out there were 17 of us left, and 16 ended up going to a really odd-but-intruiging-but-weird-but-yummy restaurant/club place named Hanny's . We'd gone there before, during the 'Pilgrim' premier two years ago, but with a much smaller group. This time it was a really long table of fun. We ate, took tons of pictures, laughed, prayed, and joked around with each other. Vic was told by our server that there was no karaoke at one point after he started singing to the song. It was totally the DJ's fault, though. If they didn't want people to sing, they shouldn't play those songs! I got Vic to sign my arm, completing the collection, and he went pretty crazy with it. I like my Snoopy and Enterprise, thank you very much. :) Almost all of us took turns in the weird mirrored-hallway bathrooms, empty glass-floored elevator shaft, and creepy-doll-filled basement before walking back to the hotel for a goodbye full of hugs. It's always so sad to leave them!
Vic signing my arm.

Michele was terrified of the glass floor.

The finished product! :D

This morning Becky, Aubrey, Hayley and I went to breakfast with Greg and Cherri Dykstra. Greg works for Pixar and came out for the shoot with his brother and sister. I'd met Greg, Adam (his brother) and Cherri a few months ago when Vic came out to show 'Fairest' to Pixar and Kasey invited me to have dinner with them all. Breakfast was a great way to round out the weekend before heading to the airport to come home.

So, that's pretty much it! Now you know all about what I've been doing these past few months, right? Playing with kids, playing with dogs, playing with Trek. Close enough, anyway. I'm going to try and start posting more often, but I'm not promising anything. I never have, and I never will. But we'll see. :)

I wish I had something profound to end with today, but the con stole all my brainpower. I'm not sure why it wanted it or what it will do with it, but I can't find it and I'm pretty sure I last saw it in Arizona. Sorry about that. I'll try to some up with something soon. Again, we'll see.

If you've gotten this far, thanks for sticking it out! I tried to add enough pictures to make it bearable. Let me know if it worked!

'Til next time,
-Megan

P.S. This took long enough that I no longer felt like reading through it like I normally do, so I apologize for any issues. Maybe I'll go back and fix things later. Now I'm going to go watch Fullmetal and go to sleep.

09 November 2014

Sorry!

If there is anyone out there who cares and/or was looking for a post tonight, I apologize. My computer won't load anything right now, as our internet is being silly. I actually just downloaded the app on my phone so I could type this. I will do everything in my power to get it done at some point tomorrow. Sorry!
 
P.S. My next post is most likely going to be rather-and by that I mean extremely- long to make up for the fact that I didn't write anything last week. Ye be warned. 

P.P.S. To try and make up for everything, here's a cute picture of Sherlock. Those stripy things are socks, AKA his favorite toys. More pics and a video to follow as soon as the Internet cooperates. 

P.P.P.S. I just read through this to make sure there weren't any glaring mistakes and saw that the word "internet" was auto-caps locked once but not the other time I typed it. Nor was it this last time. Huh. 

P.P.P.P.S. There are fire truck sirens going outside all'a sudden. Wonder why. 

26 October 2014

그냥

'Sup peeps?
How's it going? I am once again going to ask for updates from everyone. No, I'm not going to do it in as many words as last week, but come on. Remember the 'I can't know what you're up to if you don't tell me' thing? Maybe I'll try a little your-own-medicine one of these days… Just putting that out there… xP
First of all, I want to give a huge shout out to Alex Preston! She is my only "follower" on this blog. I can't say I understand why she did it (or even what it actually means…) but I just want y'all to know how much I love her. Alex, you are a beautiful, wonderful, talented person and I am SO blessed and grateful that we're friends! I miss you and can't wait to see you again! Love you, girl!
I love "Pippin". It's an awesome show. Thanks, Trench!
Anyway, this week was probably the most eventful since I moved here. I'll see if I can accurately portray what happened. (Of course, that'll be easier if I can remember more than I currently do… We'll see how it goes.) (Also, I may end up going for a record for the number of ellipses one uses in a blog post. Apparently I'm up to four already, and this is only my third real paragraph. Shall we see how many of those end up coming to play?) Allons-y!
Okay, so Monday. Most of the day wasn't anything too special, but I did end up going to a YSA (that's young single adults, for those that don't know. It's an LDS term for those of us who are 18+ and not married.) FHE (family home evening. Usually done with families, obviously, but can be done with ward or other groups.) activity. It was a multi-ward event, and I went with a girl that lives in the next development or something like that. Her dad is in our bishopric and when they came over to visit with me last Sunday said he thought the two of us would get along. So far, we totally are. I met up with Matice and her friends Robert and Rebecca (the two of them aren't members, but apparently go to a lot of activities and stuff with Matice) and we all drove up together. The activity was in Mountain View, a little over half an hour away, and was a photo scavenger hunt in a 'pumpkin patch'. The patch itself was a bit sad, honestly. It was a few pumpkins in a parking lot. There were a few bouncy castles we weren't allowed to go in; some baby chickens and a mini goat; some "haunted caves" that were little ten foot long tunnels made out of hay bales; and some cardboard cutouts scattered throughout. Like I said, it was sad. But once the hunt started, things really picked up. As I said in my tweet that night, my team was pretty awesome. At least half of them would be really fun to GISHWHES with- that were all trying to figure out how to get extra points and make our pictures cooler and stuff. Also, I'm pretty sure I talked to more guys that night than I have in the past year or two combined. Some of them were really cute, but most of them were from Palo Alto and seemed a bit put off at how far away I lived. Unless they were just put off by me. I dunno. Anyway, the night wrapped up at a ward building a few minutes away with hot cider, pumpkin bread and cookies, then the four of us drove home.
Tuesday wasn't anything too special. I actually don't remember what happened at all, so I'm gonna go with nothing. (I can't keep the days straight when they're happening, much less almost a week later… So sue me.) The only real highlight from this day was the 'Supernatural' episode. HOLY CRAP!!!!!!!!!!! It was REALLY good. Like, I think it's about as close to televisual perfection as you can get. Seriously. Beautiful.
Wednesday was another crazy one from the get-go. Niccole had a doctor's appointment to check over the x-rays she'd had taken on Monday, but they still can't tell if anything's broken or not. She also went to get her teeth cleaned, which surprisingly enough took her half an hour from walking in the door to walking back out. Kelsey gets out of school early on Wednesdays, and we didn't think Niccole would be finished in time, so I was in charge of picking her up. I got the two younger kids bundled out the door but didn't notice my phone going off because they were making a fuss. It was a good thing Niccole got finished so quickly 'cause I was late through it all. If I'd known soon enough I wouldn't have even tried, but by the time I saw the text we were close enough that we went and met them anyway. After everyone got home Niccole sat the kids down to watch a movie while I went out for a job interview. I got it, by the way. I didn't say anything earlier about it 'cause it's nothing big, though. It's just a part time position at a PetsMart in Mountain View. It's a bit of a drive, only part time and doesn't pay much, but at least it's something for now. I'm also hoping Target will call back, 'cause that would make up the rest of my needed funds until I can find something better. Don't worry, I'm still very actively looking, but this will let me have some money to gas my car, pay my bills and start getting ready for STC. Who knows, maybe these jobs are just making it so I can easily go for episode four and then start something bigger and better when I come back. I dunno. After the interview, I went and, ahem, donated for my drug test and then drove over to meet Niccole and the kids at the Apple complex. We went to the corporate store, which is where they sell their apparel and stuff on top of their normal products, then sat and played Eye Spy while we waited for Ryan to get off. Once he did, we got signed in as guests and went to Cafe Macs for dinner. It's a pretty darn impressive place. The food was really yummy, quite well priced, and the atmosphere was awesome. Just one more reason I want to work for them. xP
Thursday was another down day. We did pretty much nothing, which was nice. We knew the next two days would be crazy busy, so we took it easy.
Friday and Saturday were spent getting ready for the ward Halloween party. Niccole was in charge of it, which was stressful enough. She kept getting frustrated at the severe lack of communication she encountered, especially with people from the Morgan Hill Second Ward. (It was a combined activity.) That was all on top of the fact that she and I decided to enter something into the chili cook off. We decided to use the butternut squash recipe she'd found a bit ago. Since the kids liked it as much as they did (not to mention the two of us!) we thought, why not. On Friday we got most of the stuff ready to make the chili, so we spent a lot of time chopping and browning and roasting. I cut so much squash that I got a blister on my middle finger and one of those painful, sub-dermal almost-blisters on the bottom of my index finger. That stuff is REALLY hard! Saturday we actually put it all together (it barely fit in the crock pot and pressure cooker. Niccole says she needs a bigger crock pot.), finished our part of the decorations and worked out the stuff for the trunk. Niccole decided she wanted to set up the trunk like a crime scene, so she traced Asher laying on a piece of paper and painted it black before tracing a 'chalk' outline on it. We got all three kids to make 'bloody' footprints that we cut out and taped in trails away from the body and used police tape and evidence markers from a kit she found. It was pretty great. Set up started at 4:00, though Ryan didn't think we'd need that much time. (the thing was scheduled to start at 5:30.) We pretty much did, though. The turnout was HUGE, and the whole thing ended up being a lot of fun. Niccole did a great job. Wanna know what was funny? We totally won the contest! It was a blind tasting, so the judges had no idea what chili was made by whom, or even who had entered at all (Not all the proffered chili was put in the contest). The bishop jokingly (I think…) said we cheated, but whatever. We got a cake as our prize. It's okay. Not great, but okay. The kids had fun with the trunk or treat, Ryan was recognized as Ash Ketchum after people saw Niccole's Pikachu, and I was only made fun of by one small child for my 'costume'. (I didn't have one. Kelsey decided she wanted to do my hair in 'snakes' and called me a witch. I said I was a homicidal maniac, 'cause they look just like everyone else, but no one who asked got the reference. Of course, she was six, but still…)
Today was a pretty typical Sunday, other than Asher throwing a world class tantrum. It did lead to an adorable moment between him and Ryan, but if you want to see that you'll have to check out my Twitter feed. It's already there. As we were heading out to church, the kids asked if they could go play around outside whilst waiting for their parents, and I said yes. When we got to the yard Browyn started running in circles saying "playing around, playing around, playing around the rosie," over and over. That was adorable, but you can't hear it in the videos I got. Sorry. We played Shrek Uno when we got home, and that was also fun as the kids learned and got into the game. Other than that, the cutest thing that happened is going to be our visual entertainment for the post.
Ryan told the kids after they put their pajamas on we could watch some "Studio C". They really like it, though half the time I really can't tell if they're laughing 'cause they actually think it's funny or because the three adults are. Who knows. Either way, seeing them- and especially Browyn- dance to the theme song is worth anything and everything else that comes from trying to get them to behave. This isn't the best example, but it's pretty good. My favorite Browyn dance move is the little hip-wiggle she does. I think you can see it right at the end. I'm not sure. But it's still cute!


Wellp, that's pretty much it. Questions? Comments? Concerns? I'll be waiting!
(Okay, so the total tally of ellipses was too low for me to actually go count them. I didn't put in nearly as many as I thought I would. Parentheses, on the other hand, are plentiful and abundant. Hopefully they made up for the complete and total lack of cool anything in this post. Sorry?)

22 October 2014

Grass Angels


The kids wanted to make 'grass angel pyramids' while at the Apple Complex for dinner tonight. We never did figure out what that meant, but I got this of Browyn making her grass angel. It was pretty adorable. Afterward, she stood up, turned and, after a critical look, said "It's a pretty grass angel," before letting me put her shoes on to go home. Yup.

19 October 2014

Silence in Morgan Hill

Hello internet!
I figure that's all I'm writing to, so I might as well address this accordingly. What do you think?
What's up? How's it going? What's happening? How's tricks? What have you been up to? How's it hanging? What- no, I think that's it. I can't think of another one. But, the question remains. I want to know these things!
This week was really quiet. Literally. Ryan, Niccole, and the kids left for Disneyland last Sunday (I think I mentioned that in the last post, didn't I?) so I had the house to myself. Lucky me. It was so exciting! (I once had a conversation with someone [probably from STC- I'm thinking it was either Kasey or Chris, but I don't remember] about how we should have a punctuation mark that could denote sarcasm. We were thinking about using the upside-down exclamation or question mark, though no one knew how to make them. Anyone have any ideas?) Seriously, though, I got bored at approximately 11:00 AM on Monday. And I got out of bed around 9. It was extremely weird to wake up at pretty much the same time as usual out of habit, but not hear the kids playing or their parents trying to get them to eat or whatever. The things we get used to, eh?
So, what did I do all week? Nothing. Seriously. I worked out a bit, though not as much as I should have. I applied for at least 50 jobs, though I probably should have done that more too. I played a bunch of games on my phone. Oh, and I watched all three complete seasons plus the first three episodes (that's all there was so far. Hey, there was a new one tonight!) of 'Once Upon a Time'. That's a good show. For anyone out there that is trying to say "I told you you'd like it!" I never didn't like it. It's just that the last time I tried to start watching I had to do so on Hulu, and I hate Hulu. The commercials drive me crazy, and it's extremely annoying that the more you watch the more ads you have to sit through. Now that it's all on Netflix, however, I finally got around to watching it. For those of you don't that follow me on Twitter (don't worry, I totally don't blame you) the soundtrack is beautiful. I am continuously surprised at that fact, 'cause the theme they play over the name screen thing (you know, where the opening credits used to be but nowadays most shows just throw up the name of the show and get on with things) is dumb. I don't like it. But most of the rest of the music is seriously gorgeous. I want it.
The most exciting thing about the week was also the most terrifying. This house may well be haunted. I haven't decided yet. It shouldn't be, since it's not very old and as far as I know the land is nothing special, but there is a distinct possibility that it is. Almost every single night when the others were gone, I heard things. Not just little things, either. I mean, I heard doors opening and closing, creaks on the stairs and hallway outside my room, bangs like cupboards shutting- all sorts of things. There were at least three separate times where I got out of bed to do a room-by-room-including-closets-and-behind-the-shower-curtain search of the house, I was THAT sure there was someone else here. Niccole's heard stuff like that too, so it's probably not my imagination. Okay, so it most likely is. Or at worst, it's the house settling. But hey, you never know. Especially now as Samhain is approaching- the border between this world and the next is thinning, and things may well find their way through. ooooooOOOOOOOOoooooo. Watch out!
They got home late last night, and I'm pretty sure the two older kids didn't even realize I was talking to them as I helped put them to bed. Today we had stake conference, where we heard from the stake president (obviously) a Laurel, a young family, the Oakland temple president and his wife, the San Jose mission (now I know which one we're in!) president and his wife, and a member of I believe the fifth Quorum of the Seventy. He's from Hawaii, but I can't remember his name. Sorry. It was good, though. A rather simple but enjoyable conference. Afterwards, the kids wanted to show me their pictures from Disneyland, though they got a bit bored since there were so many duplicates and they were all in a weird order. I guess that's what we get for looking at the shared album with everything all the random family members had put together. They really enjoyed telling me some of their stories, though. Then the bishopric, elders' quorum president and Relief Society president came over to 'get to know me better'. That was also a surprisingly fun conversation- not nearly as awkward as I'd been expecting. Then we finished off the evening with dinner and playing the Wii, which is not a common Sunday thing but Asher had really wanted to play Mario Kart with Kyle and it just went from there.
That's it! Like I said, not much happened. I'm going to try and spice things up a bit with an Asher anecdote. This is not from this week, as he wasn't around, but it was pretty darn hilarious. Hopefully it'll be as funny in the retelling. Here goes nothing! (As if that's any different from the rest of my posts…)
So, once upon a couple of weeks ago, I was talking to Kasey, our production manager for STC. We were Facebook messaging (though I've never been sure why we don't just text… Maybe Kasey has a limited plan? Do those still exist?) while I was eating breakfast, and trying to get Asher and Browyn to do the same. Asher asked who I was talking to, and I told him a friend. After a while, and a bunch of badgering, I asked if Asher wanted to see a picture of my friend. He very excitedly said yes, so I pulled up the one I'd sent to Dilee the day after I got here. (At the time, it was a 'look what I'm doing right now!' pic). This is it:

Asher looked at it for a minute, then very seriously asked, "Why is he so old?" 
I was shocked, of course, and couldn't help but laugh. I told him Kasey isn't old, and asked why he thought that. Asher just did his little one-shoulder shrug and replied "I don't know." I relayed the thought to Kasey, we laughed about it, and shortly thereafter ended our conversation. 
A bit later in the day, I was again talking with Kasey. Asher, of course, asked who I was conversing with and I said it was the friend I'd been talking to earlier, and that I was apologizing for what his earlier comment. He was interested, so I asked if Asher wanted to say anything to Kasey. I'd just found the audio message feature thing in the Facebook Messenger app and figured it would be a good way to test it. Asher said he wanted to, but couldn't think of anything to actually say. I told him he could think about it, and that I'd help him send something when I came back inside. I left my phone on the couch as I went into the garage to help Niccole switch the laundry (this was in the first week of her injury where she was wearing her sling, so she couldn't do it on her own.) When I got back, not three minutes later, my phone was in a different position and Asher had run off. I looked at it and realized he had sent something to Kasey without me. I pressed play, and to my utter astonishment, he had said "I only said that 'cause you look so fat!" Again, I couldn't help laughing, and in fact almost literally fell on the floor. Niccole, of course, was curious, so I explained everything to her. She also laughed, but was also horrified. I spent some time again apologizing and relayed her assurances that she's 'raised her kids better than that'. Kasey thought this new part of the conversation was even better than the last, and said "Nothing for her to worry about! I thought it was funny as he**" (Sorry to edit, Kasey, but you never know who's going to read these. Or something. xP) Asher then sent another audio message that simply said "I'm sorry," to which Kasey replied "Aww, very sweet. Apology is accepted and we are now friends." Asher's reaction to that?

All in all, it was a very funny day. (That wasn't the only filter-free kid moment we had. Niccole and I are trying to figure out how to teach the kids to think before opening their mouths.) It was definitely one of those things where you feel like you probably should get mad, but you're laughing to hard to do so. Of course, we talked to Asher about why you shouldn't just say stuff like that, 'cause it might hurt people's feelings, but seriously. Hilarious. Thanks for being such a great sport about it, Kasey!

12 October 2014

Pics from this weekend!


The view of the city from the party site. The Blue Angels were flying around in there somewhere, but I don't think you can see them in this pic. Sorry.




Giant slide the kids wanted to go on. I'm not sure if this or the glass house was their favorite thing. They were both pretty funny to watch. :)



Sunset over the city.




The kids with their face paint and balloon things. Kelsey's face paint was called 'frozen' and her balloon is Elsa; Browyn has peacock paint and an Olaf, and Asher's is Spiderman and a sword. Sorry it's a bit blurry- these kids are impossible to photograph if they don't want you to do so!


The sunset as seen down through this street on the base.




Today while waiting for their parents, the kids went outside to play a bit. This is them using the leaves to fly (as Asher is demonstrating) while being bat spies. Or something. (They were going on 'bat missions', and they meant the secret type as opposed to the spiritual type.) You never can really tell with them.