19 October 2014

Silence in Morgan Hill

Hello internet!
I figure that's all I'm writing to, so I might as well address this accordingly. What do you think?
What's up? How's it going? What's happening? How's tricks? What have you been up to? How's it hanging? What- no, I think that's it. I can't think of another one. But, the question remains. I want to know these things!
This week was really quiet. Literally. Ryan, Niccole, and the kids left for Disneyland last Sunday (I think I mentioned that in the last post, didn't I?) so I had the house to myself. Lucky me. It was so exciting! (I once had a conversation with someone [probably from STC- I'm thinking it was either Kasey or Chris, but I don't remember] about how we should have a punctuation mark that could denote sarcasm. We were thinking about using the upside-down exclamation or question mark, though no one knew how to make them. Anyone have any ideas?) Seriously, though, I got bored at approximately 11:00 AM on Monday. And I got out of bed around 9. It was extremely weird to wake up at pretty much the same time as usual out of habit, but not hear the kids playing or their parents trying to get them to eat or whatever. The things we get used to, eh?
So, what did I do all week? Nothing. Seriously. I worked out a bit, though not as much as I should have. I applied for at least 50 jobs, though I probably should have done that more too. I played a bunch of games on my phone. Oh, and I watched all three complete seasons plus the first three episodes (that's all there was so far. Hey, there was a new one tonight!) of 'Once Upon a Time'. That's a good show. For anyone out there that is trying to say "I told you you'd like it!" I never didn't like it. It's just that the last time I tried to start watching I had to do so on Hulu, and I hate Hulu. The commercials drive me crazy, and it's extremely annoying that the more you watch the more ads you have to sit through. Now that it's all on Netflix, however, I finally got around to watching it. For those of you don't that follow me on Twitter (don't worry, I totally don't blame you) the soundtrack is beautiful. I am continuously surprised at that fact, 'cause the theme they play over the name screen thing (you know, where the opening credits used to be but nowadays most shows just throw up the name of the show and get on with things) is dumb. I don't like it. But most of the rest of the music is seriously gorgeous. I want it.
The most exciting thing about the week was also the most terrifying. This house may well be haunted. I haven't decided yet. It shouldn't be, since it's not very old and as far as I know the land is nothing special, but there is a distinct possibility that it is. Almost every single night when the others were gone, I heard things. Not just little things, either. I mean, I heard doors opening and closing, creaks on the stairs and hallway outside my room, bangs like cupboards shutting- all sorts of things. There were at least three separate times where I got out of bed to do a room-by-room-including-closets-and-behind-the-shower-curtain search of the house, I was THAT sure there was someone else here. Niccole's heard stuff like that too, so it's probably not my imagination. Okay, so it most likely is. Or at worst, it's the house settling. But hey, you never know. Especially now as Samhain is approaching- the border between this world and the next is thinning, and things may well find their way through. ooooooOOOOOOOOoooooo. Watch out!
They got home late last night, and I'm pretty sure the two older kids didn't even realize I was talking to them as I helped put them to bed. Today we had stake conference, where we heard from the stake president (obviously) a Laurel, a young family, the Oakland temple president and his wife, the San Jose mission (now I know which one we're in!) president and his wife, and a member of I believe the fifth Quorum of the Seventy. He's from Hawaii, but I can't remember his name. Sorry. It was good, though. A rather simple but enjoyable conference. Afterwards, the kids wanted to show me their pictures from Disneyland, though they got a bit bored since there were so many duplicates and they were all in a weird order. I guess that's what we get for looking at the shared album with everything all the random family members had put together. They really enjoyed telling me some of their stories, though. Then the bishopric, elders' quorum president and Relief Society president came over to 'get to know me better'. That was also a surprisingly fun conversation- not nearly as awkward as I'd been expecting. Then we finished off the evening with dinner and playing the Wii, which is not a common Sunday thing but Asher had really wanted to play Mario Kart with Kyle and it just went from there.
That's it! Like I said, not much happened. I'm going to try and spice things up a bit with an Asher anecdote. This is not from this week, as he wasn't around, but it was pretty darn hilarious. Hopefully it'll be as funny in the retelling. Here goes nothing! (As if that's any different from the rest of my posts…)
So, once upon a couple of weeks ago, I was talking to Kasey, our production manager for STC. We were Facebook messaging (though I've never been sure why we don't just text… Maybe Kasey has a limited plan? Do those still exist?) while I was eating breakfast, and trying to get Asher and Browyn to do the same. Asher asked who I was talking to, and I told him a friend. After a while, and a bunch of badgering, I asked if Asher wanted to see a picture of my friend. He very excitedly said yes, so I pulled up the one I'd sent to Dilee the day after I got here. (At the time, it was a 'look what I'm doing right now!' pic). This is it:

Asher looked at it for a minute, then very seriously asked, "Why is he so old?" 
I was shocked, of course, and couldn't help but laugh. I told him Kasey isn't old, and asked why he thought that. Asher just did his little one-shoulder shrug and replied "I don't know." I relayed the thought to Kasey, we laughed about it, and shortly thereafter ended our conversation. 
A bit later in the day, I was again talking with Kasey. Asher, of course, asked who I was conversing with and I said it was the friend I'd been talking to earlier, and that I was apologizing for what his earlier comment. He was interested, so I asked if Asher wanted to say anything to Kasey. I'd just found the audio message feature thing in the Facebook Messenger app and figured it would be a good way to test it. Asher said he wanted to, but couldn't think of anything to actually say. I told him he could think about it, and that I'd help him send something when I came back inside. I left my phone on the couch as I went into the garage to help Niccole switch the laundry (this was in the first week of her injury where she was wearing her sling, so she couldn't do it on her own.) When I got back, not three minutes later, my phone was in a different position and Asher had run off. I looked at it and realized he had sent something to Kasey without me. I pressed play, and to my utter astonishment, he had said "I only said that 'cause you look so fat!" Again, I couldn't help laughing, and in fact almost literally fell on the floor. Niccole, of course, was curious, so I explained everything to her. She also laughed, but was also horrified. I spent some time again apologizing and relayed her assurances that she's 'raised her kids better than that'. Kasey thought this new part of the conversation was even better than the last, and said "Nothing for her to worry about! I thought it was funny as he**" (Sorry to edit, Kasey, but you never know who's going to read these. Or something. xP) Asher then sent another audio message that simply said "I'm sorry," to which Kasey replied "Aww, very sweet. Apology is accepted and we are now friends." Asher's reaction to that?

All in all, it was a very funny day. (That wasn't the only filter-free kid moment we had. Niccole and I are trying to figure out how to teach the kids to think before opening their mouths.) It was definitely one of those things where you feel like you probably should get mad, but you're laughing to hard to do so. Of course, we talked to Asher about why you shouldn't just say stuff like that, 'cause it might hurt people's feelings, but seriously. Hilarious. Thanks for being such a great sport about it, Kasey!

No comments:

Post a Comment